:: Ulrik Gerdes :: Medical doctor, DMSci

Almost all what is worth knowing about me :: Klik hér for en dansk version


   
   

 

Contact me

Sound & sms: +45 2445 9853

 

ulrik.gerdes@outlook.dk

...or find me on LinkedIn, Twitter or Facebook

 

Current position


Pensioner.

 

About my way of working...

 

Creative, thorough & critically :: Perfection is just only acceptable...!

 

My very first scientific paper

Journal of Physiologyis an old, reputable science journal, which now publishes older articles for free on the Internet..

The article was published in 1978: I was only 24 years old, and looked slightly different then...

 

 

 

Education & former positions

Medical doctor and specialist in clinical biochemisty.

Former positions as specialist, consultant and associate professor at the Department of Clinical Biochemistry, Aarhus University Hospital and University of Aarhus, as well as at other Danish Hospitals. 

Research & development

I have previously worked with e.g. cardiovascular epidemiology, including genetic epidemiology, and with calcium-transport in muscle cells.

Dissertations 

Doctoral thesis (DMSci): University of Aarhus, 2002: »Some epidemiological aspects of the common apolipoprotein E polymorphism«

Click here [pdf]

Click here [a true digital version]

Student's thesis (gold medal): University of Aarhus, 1980: »Calcium permeability of sarcoplasmic reticulum membranes« 

Click here [a scanned document]

I am particularly proud of this work from my time as a young researcher, because one of my following publications was referenced in a paper in Nature in 2007 explaining how the calcium pump in muscle cells works. 

Scientific publications 


Click here to search Pubmed

My publications cover a wide field and have a H-index around 30.

Other presentations? 

Click here [in Danish]

 

 

 01-10-2021 15:12

 

  Curriculum vitae

 

Click here to get it [in Danish]

 

Private life

I am 67 years old and married to Lisbeth Risager Gerdes, who is a nurse specialist at the Intensive Care Unit at Sygehus Lillebælt in Kolding, and also a trained organist.

We live in Taulov in a house with a beautiful view over a valley (see above), and have two children born in 2003 and 2005.

I have 3 other children, born in 1978, 1989 and 1996.

 

Frida, Gustav, [me], Sebastian, Jonas and Josefine

My occupations tend to coincident with my professional interests, e.g. because I am very interested in modelling complex systems and in informatics, particularly with efficient use of information and communication technology, and AI.

But I do some art painting [see left], read a lot, and like modern philosophy, history and science-fiction.

Political standpoint

I am member of Venstre

Venstre

 

 
   
Sidst opdateret den 01. oktober 2021 15:12